Sunday Mind Musings

Posted: August 15, 2010 in Word of Encouragement

It’s Sunday and for most it’s restorative, enlightening and rejuvenating. I’ve been meditating and praying on two main verses that were prayed over me by my wife and friend after church. Psalms 1 and Psalms 92. On top of that I’m halfway through “A Praying Life” by Paul E. Miller. I’m totally fascinated by the fact that prayer is not as complex and boring as I’ve made it out to be.

I’ve only been a Christian for 4 years not counting my childhood baptist church days, and without a doubt I can attest that we trivialize prayer, and we get cynical about its power and impact when done through Christ. The other day I found myself praying to God to help me find my keys I lose at least once a day. I’m also reading a great book on marriage titled “What Did You Expect: Redeeming the Realities of Marriage” by Paul David Tripp. I am blown away by the revelation that my idea of marriage, eventhough it’s fabricated through my understanding of the bible, is off center, and at best a 10% chance of how close God wants me to be to the truth.

With two books, two verses a day to read, on top of the occasional One Year Bible devotional, I’m swimming deep in God’s truth and need to sort it all out. I’ve come to the conclusion that God calls a sabbath not just for a physical rest, but a mental and spiritual rest. A retreat from the hustle and bustle of your 9-5 job, or if your young, ambitious and growing a new family, your 7-6 job has you dreaming of sleep right as you’ve left the office. The only set back is that my wife calls me to let me know we are out of bread and milk , and you need to swing by the supermarket.

But for the record God has called you into this place of work for a reason which will ultimately bring you closer to knowing him.

By the end of this Sunday, I’m hoping I was a blessing to my family, able to help my wife and daughter Sabbath. I’m praying that I blessed the Lord by actually slowing down, taking a load off, and actuallyy taking a much needed REST! My rest came in the form of some football, some book reading, and a long walk with the family.

God willing, tomorrow will be a productive day, and the week for that matter, will be a reflection of charging my batteries with God, his truth, some faith the size of a mustard seed.

Be Blessed this week.

Leave a Reply

