Slow and Steady Plotting

Posted: September 2, 2010 in Journal Entry

This past couple days I think the Lord has been calling me into a place of intense focus on the little things in life. For me in particular I am making choices to focus in on the relationships that affect me, from the greatest to the least. This means I ask myself what kind of conversations did I have with God. Did I have any conversations with God? What were my interactions like with my wife? My 2-year-old toddler?

I just got through the 4th chapter of a book by Paul Tripp titled “What Did You Expect” and it is chock full of wisdom that continues to point a finger at the person in the mirror, and also that person’s heart.

Did I miss any opportunities to minister to my co-workers today? Was I too preoccupied with what I didn’t accomplish the day before, or was I possibly too distracted by what I think I must accomplish the rest of the day.

My prayer is that I pay attention to the smaller moments that God provides. Be it the conversations with my wife, the play time with my child, or the books I read.

Everything adds up to something.

10“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much. 11So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches? (Luke 16:10-11)

My other prayer is that I can see what God has entrusted to me, and to cherish it, to do the best I can with what I have, and to never regret what might be  lost.

Leave a Reply

