Always Ready to Die, Never Prepared to Live

Posted: October 29, 2010 in Word of Encouragement

I’ve got life insurance, a down payment has been made, and when its all said and done, I know where I’m going.

I had a revelation, or rather a re-revelation. I’ve been convicted of falling into the mundane pattern of getting stuck in the day to day, Monday to Friday routine. It’s a little scary to think that we as humans are so easily distracted, to the point that we find ourselves lost, again. At the same exit ramp for the fifth time, at the same landmark for the tenth time. Only the Holy Spirit can guide us where we truly need to be.

So I take a deep breath, and remind myself that we are not alone, and we are not expected to have all the answers. What we are urged to do is listen for the shepherds voice, each moment, every day.

How do we hear his voice when everything is so loud?

The word that came to my wife and I was to get unplugged. To sort of reprioritize our time and energy, and put it into the life giving things that excite us and rejuvenate us. Holy is what we want to be, and holy is what we will be when we seek out things that glorify him, those habits will have us ready to go to him in the end, and also prepared to live a life that pleases him.

Peace and Blessings

Leave a Reply

