Finding My Soul Print

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Book Review

This is the third Mark Batterson book I’ve read and I am happy to say that this installment is from the heart,and  is inspired  by God, and in as few words as possible can and will show you glimpses of what God wants for your unique destiny. Mark makes a clear and concise disclaimer at the beginning of this book, and I concur, that if you are looking for a self help book your not in the right place.  As he puts it ” Self Help” is nothing more than idolatry dressed up in a tuxedo. However, if you are seeking to yield your  life to God and find out what he might have in store for your ministry, your family, and your walk and mission in life, then “Soul Print” is a read that will help you along your journey.

As usual, Mark mixes life experience with the scripture that show us specifically where God has worked in his life, and how God can work in our life. Mark impresses upon us questions that stir up the why behind our motives, and the what God wants to do with them.

King David himself, God’s beloved, is used as a backdrop to set the stage throughout the book of how God is more than willing to use humble servants who are intent on having their hearts reflect the Glory of God, no matter the sin, the tribulation, and heartache, we learn through this reading its a repentant heart God  can unleash within you in this season.

Mark Batterson, like other great pastors, asks the hard questions that get to the  nitty-gritty part of prophetic self discovery.

I personally am in a season where I am asking myself these hard questions as to why I want to be a pastor, and why my dreams and visions are not totally for self glory. I am also wrestling with discovering who God has crafted me to become, versus who I think I should be. This book has allowed me to meditate on scripture and pray that God will continue to give me revelation on how I can better serve him in his timing, and use gifts and talents he has given me to make an impact on this present generation.

Download a Free Chapter Here- Opening: Soul Print

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

